maubere digital army


CRIMINAL INVESTIGATION AGAINST ALKATIRI DROPPED BY TIMOR’S PROSECUTOR GENERAL
Februari 6, 2007, 6:22 am
Filed under: Media

Media Release by DEPIM FRETILIN
5.02.2007

Former Prime Minister of Timor-Leste and Secretary
General of FRETILIN, Dr. Mari Alkatiri was today
notified by the Office of the Prosecutor General of
Timor-Leste that the investigation against him was
closed and that no further action would be taken for
want of evidence of any criminal conduct ON the part
of Dr. Alkatiri arising out the allegations made of
his alleged involvement in the arming of civilians.

The Prosecutor Generals Office concluded from the
investigations that there was no evidence that Dr.
Alkatiri either had any knowledge or participated in
anyway in the alleged distribution of arms to
civilians to warrant any criminal prosecution to be
brought against Dr. Alkatiri.

“I have maintained my innocence with respect to any
knowledge or participation in the matters alleged from
the outset. My family and my supporters vehemently
maintained my innocence in this regard. Anyone who
knows me knows it would have been against my personal
values and my character to be involvement with any
such practices. I, my family and my supporters have
never doubted that the truth would prevail and that I
would be vindicated,” said Dr. Alkatiri.

“I have committed my life to the struggle for justice
by our people. I have been a strident promoter of
truth and justice in our people’s cause, and have
maintained that truth and justice would prevail during
this investigation against me and that I would be
cleared. I submitted myself to the justice system,
unlike some who have been actors in the crisis in our
country of last year, because I believe in a state
based on the rule of law and justice. False
allegations aired with extreme political bias and
utmost ill will has been found to be baseless when
subject to judicial scrutiny,” said Dr. Alkatiri.

“This now paves the way for me to seek legal redress
for the injustice done to me and my family by the
politically motivated smear campaign instigated
against my good name and character in Timor-Leste,
Australia and elsewhere,” said Dr. Alkatiri.

Dr. Alkatiri continues to be the Secretary General of
Timor-Leste largest elected party and has returned to
parliament where he will continue to play a role in
the re-election of his parliamentary party.


1 Komentar so far
Tinggalkan komentar

Hello there! I could have sworn I’ve been to your blog before but after browsing through
some of the posts I realized it’s new to me. Anyhow, I’m certainly delighted I stumbled upon it and I’ll be book-marking it and checking back
regularly!

Komentar oleh Tera Online Hack




Tinggalkan Balasan

